Uncategorized

First blog post

WELCOME!

Hi! Thanks for checking out my blog! I am Jess and I am a mama of 2 energetic little ones (an almost 5 year old son- The Bear, and an almost 2 year daughter- The Bug).  I am a Registered Nurse who is currently staying at home with the littles and running my own health and fitness coaching business.

I have a passion for healthy food and recipes and refuse to eat bland and boring “diet” food. I also struggle with the horrors of attempting to feed a 4 year old (who would eat chicken fingers and pizza ALL. THE. TIME. if I let him) and a toddler (who’s not too picky, but would rather throw her food on the floor or dump an entire bowl of food on her head just for the fun of it). And as I wear many hats in life, I don’t have a ton of time to slave away over the stove. So as a mom my goal is to feed my family nutritious food that is quick and easy to make. Real food fast!

As a mom I also think it’s important to take care of myself…gasp! This is a concept that I struggled with. I knew that I needed to be healthier and work on myself, but oh the mom guilt! How could I possibly take time from those little angels who I love dearly, yet drive me to the brink of insanity daily?  And that last statement right there, was exactly why I needed to take that time for myself. I needed to work on my health and fitness to have more energy, for those amazingly energetic littles of mine. They deserve a mama who isn’t constantly frazzled, exhausted, impatient and on the verge of losing her mind over a sippy-cup leak. They deserve a mama with energy, patience, who can be present and fully engaged with them. To listen to their stories, get down and play with them, to show them they are loved and important too. But once again, I don’t have a ton of time, so I need my workouts to be quick. Real fitness fast!

I also dabble in making home made lotions, deodorants, bug sprays, teeth whiteners and anything else that could be made naturally without a bunch of chemicals and ingredients that sound more like a science experiment than something that you should be putting on your littles or yourself. That being said, I am willing to admit when something doesn’t work. Let’s just say it took a few tries to find the right recipe for my DIY deodorant before I found one that worked the best. I apologize to my hubby and anyone else who’s nose I am have offended…  All of my homemade recipes are quick and easy. I don’t have time for complicated. Clean products that you can make fast!

And I love sharing any life hacks that I find to be useful for all of life’s other tasks. Quick food prep and storage tips, quick cleaning tips and anything that I find that allows me to spend more time doing the things I love and less time on the chores and tasks of day to day life! And I’ll throw in some simple and motivational mantras to get you feeling your best. Because we all have those moments when we need a quick pick me up. Simple ideas, real fast!

I was an unorganized mama who couldn’t quite seem to manage my time to get the tasks done and spend quality time with my family without losing my patience with someone or something (please tell me that I’m not the only one who has lost it on an inanimate object). I’m now a mom that has figured out how to do the tasks in life fast, in order to be a better mama, wife, friend and person in general who enjoys life again. Don’t get me wrong, I still have my less than perfect moments. But my journey is about progress and not perfection.

I hope to help other busy mamas and people across the board by sharing these fast recipes, health and fitness tips, life hacks and motivational mantras.  Thus the Fast Not Furious Mama was born. If you are looking for ways to simplify life while still taking care of your family and your health and wellness, I hope that this serves!

I’d love to hear feedback and what tips you would like more of. Comments are always welcome, but please be kind, considerate, and friendly. After all, we are all in this together!

Thanks for stopping by and I hope you come back soon!

Leave a Reply

